Executive Officer of the Year

Contact: Caroline Fabacher
Director, Executive Officers Council
(202) 266-8593

The NAHB Executive Officer of the Year Award recognizes the accomplishments of an outstanding executive officer who has contributed to the NAHB Federation during the prior calendar year. This award represents the highest level of dedication, loyalty, and commitment to promoting the value of membership and advancing the Federation’s needs.

Candidates are nominated by NAHB staff, reviewed by the NAHB Management Team, and approved by the NAHB Senior Officers. The award is usually presented at the International Builders’ Show. The recipients receive a trophy and a check for $1,000.

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2023 Executive Officer of the Year!

Rick Wajda and R. Corey Deal are holding award and standing next to Jim Tobin
L to R: Rick Wajda, 2023 State EO of the Year, R. Corey Deal, Local EO of the Year and NAHB CEO Jim Tobin
  • R. Corey Deal, Greater Atlanta HBA, Local Executive Officer of the Year Award
  • Rick Wajda, Indiana BA, State Executive Officer of the Year Award

Executive Officer of the Year Winners, 2016-Present

State Executive Officer

  • 2023: Rick Wajda, Indiana BA
  • 2022: Vince Squillace, Ohio HBA
  • 2021: Rusty Payton, Florida HBA
  • 2020: Brad Boycks, Wisconsin BA
  • 2019: Craig Toalson, HBA of Virginia
  • 2018: Mike Means, Oklahoma HBA
  • 2017: Susan Ritter, HBA of Tennessee
  • 2016: Scott Norman, Texas Association of Builders

Local Executive Officer

  • 2023: Corey Deal, Greater Atlanta HBA (Ga.)
  • 2022: Vince Squillace, Ohio HBA
  • 2021: Cameron Moore, Wilmington Cape Fear HBA (N.C.)
  • 2020: Jeffery Losey, HBA of Tri-Cities (Wash.)
  • 2019: Karyl Bohnsack, Greater Iowa City HBA
  • 2018: Donna Barrett, Charlotte-DeSoto BIA (Fla.)
  • 2017: Eric Person, Home Builders & Remodelers Association of Central Connecticut
  • 2016: Michael Dey, HBA of Greenville (S.C.)