NAHB PWB Award Judging Criteria

Contact: Claudia Richards
Senior Director, Community Member Support
(202) 266-8211

Council of the Year Award Criteria

Council of the Year award applications are judged on the following criteria:

Overall Presentation of Award Entry

  • Make sure program/event description is clear and concise
  • Examples of accomplishments are included and outlined

Effectiveness of Programs/Events

  • The event positively impacted the local HBA and PWB
  • The main objectives and pre-event comparison data are clear and concise

Accomplishments of Goals

  • Met or exceeded expectations

Bonus/Discretionary Points

  • You conducted an activity in collaboration with an NAHB PWB Sponsor
  • The project was innovative and can be used as a model for other councils

Individual Leadership Awards Criteria

Individual leadership awards include NAHB Woman of the Year and NAHB PWB Member of the Year. These categories are judged on a nominee’s overall housing industry service and experience including the following:

Woman of the Year

  • Extraordinary impact to the residential construction industry
  • Leadership and Influence in the residential construction industry
  • Contributed to creating opportunities for women in the construction industry
  • Industry Involvement

NAHB PWB Member of the Year

  • Experience with PWB at the local, state and/or national levels
  • Demonstrated leadership within the HBA and/or home building industry
  • Advancement of PWB, home building and women within the industry


How are winners selected? A panel of well-respected NAHB PWB members select the PWB local council project award winners. Individual leadership awards are judged by a panel comprised of past and current NAHB PWB leaders.