NAHB DEI Compact and Signatories

NAHB Compact on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

A Declaration of Principles and Actions to Enhance Equal Opportunity

We, the signers of the NAHB Compact on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, affirm that all people are created equal and are deserving of a welcoming environment that embraces diversity, promotes equity and actively seeks to improve inclusion that expands opportunities for success and promotes positive life outcomes.

Diversity — Centers on the understanding and recognition that varying individual characteristics are not only protected by law, but add to the tapestry, creativity, and potential of our Federation.

Equity — Refers to an approach with a goal to equalize access to opportunities while recognizing that not everyone has the same advantages.

Inclusion — Refers to the extent to which all members, staff and stakeholders are included as integral and welcomed participants in the Federation.

Our Vision

We envision a membership that accurately reflects the wide variety of people that live and work in the home building industry and participate in associations that utilize their influence to create pathways for those who want to live in the homes and communities we build, improve and maintain.

We commit to and invite all Federation members, affiliated local associations and industry participants to welcome and embrace these ideals by supporting the following actions:

  1. Welcoming Frank and Honest Discussion — We acknowledge that the first step of improving diversity, equity and inclusion begins with appropriate discussion.
  2. Having a Listening Heart — We understand listening with your heart to experiences and context will develop empathy and knowledge.
  3. Committing to Engagement — We commit to a higher level of individual engagement that stretches capacities and individual experiences.
  4. Taking Action — We understand that words do not create progress and that only specific and determined action, on everyone’s part, will create the necessary changes.
  5. Creating a Movement, Not a Moment — We unite our strength to achieve a common goal of creating a new level of diversity, equity and inclusion that changes the human experience now and in the future.

Building the Future Through Diversity, Equity and Inclusion


Sign the Compact


2021 NAHB Senior Officers

Chairman John “Chuck” Fowke, Founder and President, Homes by John C. Fowke Inc.
First Vice Chairman Jerry Konter, Founder and President, Konter Quality Homes
Second Vice Chairman Alicia Huey, Founder, AGH Homes, Inc.
Third Vice Chairman Carl Harris, Co-Founder and President, Carl Harris Co., Inc.
Immediate Past Chairman Greg Ugalde, President and Chief Legal Officer, T&M Building Co., Inc.

NAHB Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Task Force

Juli Bacon, Founder and President, JB Consulting Systems/Bacon Building & Maintenance
Dianne Beaton, Owner/Visionary Diva, 2DiFore Marketing Solutions
Joshua Correa, Founder and Owner, Divino Homes
Judy Dinelle, Building Ambassador, 84 Lumber
Rachel Dix, Executive Officer, DEI Task Force EOC Liaison, Aberdeen Home Builders Association
Barry Rutenberg
Donald Ruthroff, Principal, Dahlin Group
Karen J. Schroeder, Vice President, Mayberry Homes
J. Bradley Simons, Vice President, Magleby Construction
Jim DeWitt, President, Legends Security & Sound, Inc.

Industry Supporters

Cindy Hall, Director, Future Builders of America
Monica Wheaton, Director, Customer Success, ECI Solutions
Meg Thompson, Keller Williams Realty Atlanta Partners
Randy Noel, 2018 NAHB Chairman
Amanda Mazzei
Jim Carr, Professor, University of Arkansas Little Rock Construction Management
Caron Kavanagh, Director, Business Development, Ryan Young Interiors
Jan Bentley, President, Portable Services, Inc.
Natasha Spencer
Kristie McDowell-Karn, VP Operations, Consilium Design, Inc
Shawn Callahan, President, Metwood Building Solutions
Heather Laminack, General Manager, Ferrier Builders
Robert Cleveland, Senior VP, Fickling & Co., Inc.
Andrew Ryan, Partner, Gray Ryan Communications
Jackie Shipley, President, New Home Professionals
Sara Kilburn, CDMO, Design Line Interiors
Angela McKay, VP, Customer Experience, Anewgo
Alma Jacobs, Carolinas Builder Relationship Manager, Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group
John Norman
William Owens, President, Owens Construction
Alan Archuleta, President, Archuleta Builders
Brian Swartzwelder, President, Grey Street Studios, Inc.
Nicole Black, Executive Officer, Las Cruces Home Builders Association
Angela Harris
Timothy Foley, CEO, The Building & Realty Institute of Westchester
Carole Jones, President/CEO, Robert R Jones Homes
Kaye Leonard, Residential Marketing Manager, Parksite
Chad Lawler
Christina Gyarmati, Vice President, Safari Insurance
Nicole Goolsby, President, Red Ladder Residential, Inc
Joanne (Jo) Theunissen, Owner/Designer, Howling Hammer Builders
Chris Van Pelt, Owner, M&M Glass Company
Thomas Ackermann, President, Thomas J. Ackermann Company, Inc. 
Donna Barrett, Executive Officer, Charlotte DeSoto Building Industry Association
Mike Erdmann, CEO, Home Builders Association of Marion & Polk Counties
Terri Everhart, Business Developer, HomeSite Services
Jeff Schnellmann, Managing Member, Silliman CitySide Homes
Carrie DeWeese, Realtor/Remodeler, Chinowith & Cohen
Marla Esser Cloos, Principal, Green Home Coach, LLC
Melissa Irons, Director of Administration, Irons Brothers Construction Inc
Tom Markovich, Owner, Markovich Homes
Kelly Hayes, Regional Builder Sales Consultant, Wells Fargo Home Mortgage
Joseph Irons, President, Irons BC Design Build Center
Tim Lansford, President, Luxury Homes of Texas
Heather McCune, Director, Bassenian Laogni
Kim Hefner, Allen Homes
Dan Dressman, Executive Director, HBA of Greater Cincinnati
Jeffrey Longsworth
David O'Sullivan, President, O’Sullivan Architects Inc
Lawrence Kady
Chris Nelson, President, Nelson Construction Inc
Donald Dabbert, President, Dabbert Custom Homes
Steph Reed, Builder/President, Partners by Design Homes
Frank Wiesner
Carolyn Morrison, EVP of Sales and Marketing, Traditions of America
Linda Mosier-Vaudt, Owner, Mosier Vaudt Consulting
S. Robert August, President, North Star Synergies, Inc.
Rich Robinson, VP, HBA Member Rebate Program
Gabriela Eaton, Senior Director - Human Resources, Dahlin Group
Arlene Stewart, President, AZS Consulting Inc
Debbi Boyd, Real Estate Broker, Real Estate of South Sound
Jaclyn Anderson, Director, Dahlin Group
Jill Williams, Chairman of the Board, KTGY
Don Ricci, Director, DAHLIN
Anya Chrisanthon, AC Marketing & Consulting
Janice Johnson
Erica Lockwood, Executive Partner/Managing Director, Joseph Chris Partners
Kevin Weitzel, VP Business Development, Outhouse, LLC
Carol Morgan, President/Founder, Denim Marketing
Kimberly Mackey, Sales and Marketing Management Consultant, New Homes Solutions Consulting
Patti Guthrie, President, PFG Interiors, LLC
Mollie Elkman, President/Owner, Group Two
Carrie Roeger, Owner, White Stone Residential
Nancy Keenan, President, DAHLIN Group Architecture | Planning
Tag Gilkeson, Principal Owner, Tag & Associates, LLC
Heidi Schroeder, Senior Consultant - Lasso, ECI Software Solutions
Beth Avedis Vice President, Builder Services, Heritage Title Company
Erik Listou, Co-Founder, Living in Place Institute
Amy Abeyta, VP Business Development, Fireplace Warehouse ETC
Matthew Dobson, Vice President, VSI