Wilmington Home Builder and Developer Kevin P. Kelly Inducted into National Housing Hall of Fame

Contacts: Stephanie Pagan
Director, Media Relations
(202) 266-8254

Elizabeth Thompson
AVP, Media Relations
(202) 266-8495

The National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) inducted Kevin P. Kelly, chairman and managing principal of Leon N. Weiner & Associates, Inc. in Wilmington, Del., into its National Housing Hall of Fame, during the association’s fall leadership meeting in Houston last week.

The National Housing Hall of Fame recognizes individuals whose spirit, ingenuity and determination have changed the nation’s housing for the better, making the United States one of the best housed nations in the world.

“Kevin has made significant and lasting contributions to the home building industry throughout his impressive 40-year career,” said NAHB Chairman Chuck Fowke, a custom home builder from Tampa, Fla. “His dedication to our industry is immeasurable and we are proud to name him a recipient of this prestigious honor.”

Kelly, an industry veteran with four decades of experience, served as NAHB Chairman in 2014. Mentored in his career by two NAHB Hall of Fame members, Leon Weiner and Joseph Singer, Kelly’s NAHB chairmanship was marked with the development and implementation of training and orientation programs for state and local association professionals and membership initiatives to foster greater participation by young members.

“Kevin Kelly has been an incredible advocate for the affordable housing needs of Americans and has done an excellent job of building quality housing in Delaware. Kevin was a vital connection to NAHB when I was executive of New Castle County, even more so during my decade in the Senate,” said Senator Chris Coons. “I am thrilled he is being inducted into the National Housing Hall of Fame with my dear friend Senator Johnny Isakson.”

Throughout his career, Kelly has been active in the NAHB leadership structure at the local, state and national levels. A life director of the Home Builders Association of Delaware, he served two terms as its president (1998 and 1999) and was named Builder of the Year in 1999. In 2008, the Delaware association honored him with its distinguished service award. Kelly is only the third person to receive the award since the association was chartered in 1947.

His passion for housing affordability policy and production earned him spots on various housing, land use and advocacy organizations across his home state. Kelly is also president and co-founder of the Leon N. Weiner Education Foundation and served on the Board of Governors of the National Housing Conference and the Board of Directors of Home Innovation Research Labs, among other non-profit and charitable interests.

The National Housing Hall of Fame was established in 1976 and honors builders, developers, architects, financiers, land planners and government administrators who have made major contributions to the housing industry. Hall of Fame honorees are selected by the National Housing Center Board of Governors.

Other Housing Hall of Fame inductees this year include Former Senator Johnny Isakson, and former NAHB Chairmen Rick Judson and Barry Rutenberg.

[Editor’s Note: Photo available upon request.]