Meet the Winners of the NAHB Student Competition

Events Icon
Not only is the NAHB International Builders’ Show® (IBS) the largest annual light construction show in the world, it serves as a showcase for the next generation of home builders as hundreds of young people face off in the annual NAHB Student Competition. NAHB's 2020 Student Competition featured 60 teams that competed during IBS 2020 in Las Vegas, Jan. 20-22. This year's competition included 39 four-year programs, 14 associate programs and seven secondary programs. The event was generously sponsored by Beazer Homes, Clayton Properties Group, Consort Homes, DR Horton, K. Hovnanian and Toll Brothers. The winners were announced in a ceremony last week at IBS. See below for all of the winners, including the Rookie of the Year awards, which honor schools making their first competition appearance. And mark your calendars for next year's IBS and Student Competition, Feb. 9-11, 2021, in Orlando. Four-Year Programs [caption id="attachment_17203" align="aligncenter" width="600"] The team from Michigan State University took the top prize in the four-year programs competition.[/caption] First Place: Michigan State University Second Place: Brigham Young University Third Place: University of Wisconsin - Stout Fourth Place: Texas A&M University Fifth Place: Tarleton State University Rookie of the Year: Tuskegee University   Associate Programs  [caption id="attachment_17204" align="aligncenter" width="600"] Kirkwood Community College came out on top in the student competition for associate degree programs.[/caption] First Place: Kirkwood Community College Second Place: Brigham Young University - Idaho Team 2 Third Place: Pennsylvania College of Technology Team 1 Rookie of the Year: Collin College   Secondary Programs The student competition for secondary (high school) programs is broken into two categories: architecture and construction management. Architecture [caption id="attachment_17205" align="aligncenter" width="600"] Students from Shadow Ridge High School pose with their trophies for winning the architecture competition for secondary programs.[/caption] First Place: Shadow Ridge High School Rookie of the Year: Charles J. Colgan, Sr. High School Construction Management [caption id="attachment_17206" align="aligncenter" width="600"] Dowell J. Howard Center took the top spot in the construction management competition for secondary programs.[/caption] First Place: Dowell J. Howard Center Rookie of the Year: Dowell J. Howard Center  

Subscribe to NAHBNow

Log in or create account to subscribe to notifications of new posts.

Log in to subscribe