NAHB Associates Committee Honors Dedicated Members

Press Release

Four longtime members of the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) were honored this morning for their professionalism, political engagement, volunteer activities and service to the industry. They were recognized during the 2017 NAHB International Builders’ Show® held this week in Orlando, Fla.

Presented by the NAHB Associates Members Committee, the Builders Engaging Associate Members (BEAM) award went to David Belman of Belman Homes Inc., in Waukesha, Wisc. The BEAM award is given to a builder member who values doing business with NAHB Associates: the trade partners, suppliers and service providers who are also members of the NAHB federation.

Belman is president of the Metropolitan Builders Association in Waukesha, where he has facilitated a meeting with U.S. House Speaker Paul Ryan (R) and connected his HBA with other public leaders. He is president-elect of the Wisconsin Builders Association after serving as vice president, secretary and treasurer.

Approximately 95 percent of Belman’s subcontractors are Associate members, and he actively recruits new Associates for NAHB. His 2016 HBA Parade of Homes entry featured 46 member contractors.

The Associates Committee also honored Curt Cartwright of Rapid City Window & Glass in Rapid City, S.D., as the Bill Polley Advocate of the Year for NAHB’s national political action committee, BUILD-PAC. This award is given to an Associate member who stands out for his or her encouragement and support. Winners are recognized for their energy, enthusiasm and ability to recruit contributors to help build up the PAC’s resources.

Cartwright chaired his local PAC for three years and has been national PAC trustee for the South Dakota HBA for almost six years. During his time as trustee, he has more than quadrupled the amount raised in the state for the PAC. He has worked to increase local PAC participation and interest, and been instrumental in many PAC fundraising events. He helped establish the highly-successful America’s Ride for Housing as a state NAHB PAC fundraiser.

The Associates Committee also recognized Michael G. Farr of Cascade Manufacturing Co. in Cascade, Iowa, with the Associates Chairman’s Award. This is given to an Associate member who has demonstrated teamwork and willingness to help the committee with its initiatives, whether or not the recipient was on the committee.

Farr is a life director for NAHB and has served on its board for 14 years. He is Associate national director for the state HBA and second vice-president of the Greater Cedar Rapids HBA. In more than 20 years as an Associate member, has chaired numerous state and local committees.

Finally, the committee named Diana A. Lucero of New Mexico Bank & Trust in Albuquerque, N.M., as NAHB’s Associate of the Year. This award recognizes Associate members who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to the home building industry on the local, state and national level.

Lucero chairs the NAHB Associates Committee and has served on the NAHB Board of Directors for 11 years. She has been active on numerous committees and has coordinated events and fundraisers for her state and local HBAs. In 2014, she was inducted into the NAHB Society of Honored Associates, and 2012, NAHB honored her with the Bill Polley Advocate of the Year and the Certified Graduate Associate of the Year awards.

“I’m proud to see David, Curt, Mike and Diana enjoy this well-deserved national recognition,” said Dianne Beaton, owner of 2DiFore Marketing Solutions LLC and NAHB’s National Associate Chair. “They’ve accomplished a great deal by applying their professional skills to some very important efforts, and NAHB is all the stronger for the work they do.”