AEA – 2017 Individual Winners

The winners of the 2017 Association Excellence Awards were announced during the 2018 Association Management Conference at the annual awards luncheon on Aug. 12 in Long Beach, Calif.

Linda Revenaugh, Ashley Fickel, Brian Miller and Art Castle were honored in four distinct award categories for their career achievements and dedication to the home building industry.

Award winners

2017 AEA Winners with Board & Council Members (from left to right): EOC President Eric Person, Ashley Fickel (New EO Award), Linda Revenaugh (Small Office Honor Award), NAHB First Vice Chair Greg Ugalde, NAHB Chairman Randy Noel, NAHB Third Vice Chairman Chuck Fowke, Leslie Weed, Jon Mast, and Beverly Smock, Manatee-Sarasota BIA (2017 Membership Cup Winners), Brian Miller (EO of the Year Award), Art Castle (Career Achievement Award).

Small Office Honor Award

In honor of the late executive officer of the Arrowhead Builders Association in Minnesota, this award represents the memory of a truly inspirational woman whose impact on NAHB and her profession was just as extraordinary as her personal contributions to society.

Rachel Manley touched the lives of many people and her vibrant personality lives within the hearts of those who knew her. This award is traditionally presented to an executive officer from a small association who is judged to have made exceptional accomplishments in spite of limited resources.

This year’s Small Office Honor Award honoree is Linda Revenaugh of the Southwest Montana Building Industry Association.

New Executive Officer Award

This award, in honor of the late David Lloyd, executive officer of the Home Builders and Contractors Association of Palm Beach, is presented to an EO who has served no more than three years in an association management position, but who is judged to have made major contributions to the profession during that time.

This year’s New Executive Officer Award recognizes Ashley Fickel of the Lebanon County Builders Association in Pennsylvania.

Executive Officer of the Year Award

This award honors a dedicated EO whose actions, commitments and accomplishments in a single year have been truly exceptional. In addition, the EO promoted the goals of the EOC and assisted in the advancement of his or her peers. This award is in memory of Gary Komarow, former chief legal counsel of NAHB and a very dear friend of the EOC.

This year’s winner of the Executive Officer of the Year Award is Brian Miller of the Building Industry Association of Northern Kentucky.

Career Achievement Award

The Career Achievement Award is in honor of Seldon Hale, a man truly dedicated to his family, friends, career and colleagues. Hale was a former executive officer who served as a field representative for NAHB, helping local associations better serve their diverse membership. The award pays tribute to EOs who exemplify the highest level of dedication, loyalty, and commitment and is the highest recognition that can be awarded in the EOC.

This year’s Career Achievement award honors Art Castle of the Building Industry Association of Washington.

Congratulations to this year’s special award recipients. Each of you are honored and admired by your members, your fellow EOs, NAHB and the entire industry.