Is Your Safety Plan the Best in the Business? Find Out in the SAFE Awards

Awards Icon
[caption id="attachment_19021" align="alignright" width="300"] Winners of the SAFE Awards at IBS 2020 in Las Vegas.[/caption] The NAHB/Builders Mutual Safety Award for Excellence (SAFE) awards program is open for applications. Enter your business today to be recognized among safety leaders in the residential construction industry. The SAFE awards program is the home building industry's only award recognizing professionals who have made successful efforts to advance safety in the industry. It's easy to apply, and it's FREE. Winners will receive national recognition, including at the in-person 2022 International Builders' Show (IBS) in Orlando. The past 18 months have tested construction safety professionals in ways they never anticipated. In addition to the ongoing need to keep workers safe from traditional hazards, COVID safety plans took center stage. As the pandemic wore on, a need to focus on mental health became apparent. NAHB is recognizing leaders in mental health and wellbeing with a new category for the 2021 SAFE Awards: The Excellence in Mental Health Advocacy Award. This will honor organizations that have made a unique and special effort to support healthy work environments and contribute to greater public awareness about mental health issues in the construction industry. "We got a lot of positive feedback on our Mental Health and Wellbeing initiative, and some of our members really took their mental health awareness efforts to the next level," said J. Gary Hill, chair of the NAHB Construction Safety and Health Committee. "This new award category will recognize their good work, and identify other builders and HBAs who are doing it right." Other 2021 SAFE Award categories include:
  • Associate Member Safety Program of the Year
  • Job-Site Safety Institute Innovative Safety Idea of the Year
  • Multifamily Safety Program of the Year
  • NAHB Safety Champion of the Year
  • NAHB State or Local Association Safety Program of the Year
  • NAHB Student Chapter Safety Program of the Year
  • Remodeler Safety Program of the Year
  • Siding Contractor Safety Program of the Year
  • Single Family Safety Program of the Year
  • Specialty Trade Contractor Safety Program of the Year
SAFE Award winners will be recognized in the Jobsite Safety Zone on the exhibition floor at the 2022 IBS in Orlando, Feb. 8-10, 2022. Submit an application for free or nominate someone now at For any questions, including those on eligibility, contact Christian Culligan.    

Subscribe to NAHBNow

Log in or create account to subscribe to notifications of new posts.

Log in to subscribe