DHS Blocks Certain Foreign Nationals from H-2B Visas

Codes and Standards
Codes Icon
The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has announced that residents of the Dominican Republic, Ethiopia and the Philippines will no longer be able to enter the U.S. on temporary work visas. The decision could affect builders who utilize H-2B programs, which give visas to seasonal workers in construction and other industries. Meanwhile, the Trump administration has granted residents of Samoa and Mozambique access to the H-2B program. DHS cited visa overstays as the main reason for exclusion., but factors such as human trafficking rates, fraud, abuse and denial rates were also considered. The updated list was posted in the Federal Register. Past administrations have expanded the list of countries eligible for temporary H-2B visas, but the Trump administration has removed several countries over the last two years.  

Subscribe to NAHBNow

Log in or create account to subscribe to notifications of new posts.

Log in to subscribe