

Association Excellence Awards (AEA) Individual Award Winners

Award presentations are made in the year following the designated year of recognition.

The Career Achievement Award

Named after a former Executive Officer, Seldon Hale, who also served several years as an NAHB Field Representative, this award represents the highest levels of dedication, loyalty, and commitment. This is the highest recognition that can be awarded in the EOC.

Past Recipients

1980 Arnold Tritt 2003 Cindy Sheehan 1981 Irv Yackness 2004 Elda Marshall 1982 Lauren Cahill 2005 Robert Weiss 1983 Jim Goodrich 2006 Susie Cleveland, CAE 1984 Joe Melchior 2007 Mark Harrison 1985 Jacque Sheley, CAE 2008 Carmine Torio 1986 Susan Matlick, CAE 2009 Lynn Kilgore, CAE 1987 Ken Mitchell 2010 Wendy David 2011 Earl McLeod 1988 Orville Brown 1989 John Gutmann 2012 Pat Sullivan 1990 René Adams 2013 Channing Pfeiffer 2014 Wess Gaylon 1991 Roger Reinhardt 1992 Marlene McMahon 2015 Fran Druse 1993 Bob Rivinius, CAE 2016 Bryce Johnson 1994 John Orr, CAE 2017 Art Castle 1995 Judy Barnes, CAE 2018 Renee Zentz 1996 Gail Kavanagh 2019 Patty Rietkovich 1997 Whit Ward 2020 Mike Carpenter 1998 Bill Carson 2021 Paul Kane 1999 Bob Morris 2022 Tim Minton 2000 Jim Wahlbrink 2023 Russell Davis

2002 Bob Hanson

2001 Vincent Squillace, CAE

Executive Officer of the Year Award

Named after a former NAHB Legal Counsel, Gary Komarow, the award recognizes the outstanding achievements of an Executive Officer during a specific calendar year. Accomplishments may include advancing the success of their association, enhancing the field of association management, and supporting the state or national Executive Officers Council.

Past Recipients

1992 Sandra Parrott	1998 Frank Williams
1993 Wesley Giles and Jim Wahlbrink	1999 Mike Wilson
1994 Doris Williams	2000 Ed Kibbey
1995 Gina Hill	2001 Sam Anderson
1996 Mark Fitzgerald	2002 David Ellis, CAE
1997 David Bohardt	2003 Pat Sullivan

2004 Rich Lambros
2005 Charles J. Kavanaugh
2006 Kristi Sutterfield
2007 Matt Morrow
2008 Dave Nielsen, CAE
2009 Phil LaRocque
2010 Tim Minton
2011 Jon Luther
2012 Paul Kane, JD
2013 Rene Zentz

2014 David Siegel, IOM, CAE

2015 Eric Person
2016 Michael Stoskopf
2017 Brian Miller
2018 Phil Crone
2019 Dan Knoup
2020 Joel White
2021 Chad Lawler
2022 Holly Fraccaro

2023 Kathy Raab, CAE, CNAP

The New Executive Officer Award

Named after a former Executive Officer, David Lloyd, this award is presented to an Executive Officer who has served no more than three years in an association management position and is judged to have made major contributions to the profession during that time.

*The award in these years was titled the Seldon Hale Award.

Past Recipients

*1980 Gail Kavanagh *1981 David Llovd 1984 Chuck Lennon 1985 Charles Hepler 1986 Carla Roehl, CAE 1987 Susan Sprigg 1988 Jerry Eisner, CAE 1989 Ron Wallace 1990 Ruth Probst 1991 Elda Marshall 1992 Phil Parker 1993 Roy Nash, CAE 1994 Wallace West, CAE 1995 Jean Richmond 1996 Marsha Myers 1997 Steve Thomas 1998 Marcy Romary 1999 Ed McMahon

2004 Toni Pacelli-Hinkley

2005 Tim Knopp

2006 Kathryn 'Toy' Wood, CAE

2007 Emmett Reed, CAE and Tim Minton

2008 Caroline Purcell Sutton 2009 Bart Fletcher, CAE 2010 Michael Stoskopf 2011 Ronny Parrish

2012 Christian Malesic, MBA, IOM

2013 Phil Crone
2014 Scott Merritt
2015 Holly Fraccaro
2016 Gina Calabro
2017 Ashley Fickel
2018 Beth Johnson
2019 Chris Flanagan
2020 Bob Penrose
2021 Aimee Bertrand
2022 Lindsay Brown
2023 Jessie Spradley

The Small Office Honor

2001 Robert Kraay 2003 debi Peterson 2000 David Ellis 2002 Matt Morrow

Named for the late Executive Officer of the Arrowhead Minnesota Builders Association, Rachel Manley, this award is presented to an Executive Officer from a small association who has been judged to be an exceptionally effective association manager regardless of limited resources.

Past Recipients

1992 Katherine Fisher

1993 Jimmie Snider and Carol Jagow

1994 Joyce Haack 1995 Louise Henson

1996 Gloria Gilley 1997 Jeff Olson

1998 Pam Borchert

1999 Lisa Scott

2000 Ann Crenella

2001 Dot Hillman

2002 Sasha Zemanek

2003 Brian Todd

2004 Kay Vinzant

2005 Gretchen Gutierrez

2006 Tim VanderLaan

2007 Debby Green

2010 Jayne Mortensen

2008 CJ Bowe

2009 Pam Roth

2011 Sandy Boda

2012 Laurie Lourie

2013 Cindy Rombach

2014 Chris Duren

2015 Debbie Todd

2016 Elaine Marcille

2017 Linda Revenaugh

2018 Sarah Foster

2019 Rachel Dix

2020 Katie Hanning

2021 K.T. Catlin

2022 Julie Kneeland

2023 Michele Leppard